Anything Under The Sun Ads

Free counters!

Tuesday, February 28, 2017


Moonlight, a coming of age tale of a young black man Chiron growing up in a crime infested area of Miami beautifully told in three chapters was named the best film of 2016 at the 89th Academy Awards Oscar 2017 right after La La Land producer Jordan Horowitz named them as the winner when the presenter Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway announced the wrong winner La La Land. It bested eight other nominees on the category: Arrival, Fences, Hacksaw Ridge, Hell or High Water, Hidden Figures, La la land, Lion and Manchester by the Sea.

Best Director went to 32 year-old Damien Chazelle for the film La La Land making him the youngest director in Oscar history to win the Academy Award. Best Actress went to Emma Stone of La La Land while Best Actor went to Casey Affleck of the film Manchester by the Sea.

Academy Award winner for Best Sound Mixing Kevin O'Connell also made history with the most number of nominations without winning with 20 all but until his 21st nomination while Meryl Streep also celebrated her record breaking 20th acting nomination.

TV show personality Jimmy Kimmel hosted the ceremony.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture - Moonlight – Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner

Best Director - Damien Chazelle – La La Land

Best Actor - Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea as Lee Chandler

Best Actress - Emma Stone – La La Land as Mia Dolan

Best Supporting Actor - Mahershala Ali – Moonlight as Juan

Best Supporting Actress - Viola Davis – Fences as Rose Maxson

Best Original Screenplay - Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan

Best Adapted Screenplay - Moonlight – Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney from In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney

Best Animated Feature Film - Zootopia – Byron Howard, Rich Moore, and Clark Spencer

Best Foreign Language Film - The Salesman (Iran) in Persian – Asghar Farhadi

Best Documentary - Feature - O.J.: Made in America – Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow

Best Documentary - Short Subject  - The White Helmets – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Best Live Action Short Film - Sing – Kristóf Deák and Anna Udvardy

Best Animated Short Film - Piper – Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer

Best Original Score - La La Land – Justin Hurwitzdouble

Best Original Song - "City of Stars" from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz, Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

Best Sound Editing - Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare

Best Sound Mixing - Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O'Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie, and Peter Grace

Best Production Design - La La Land – David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco

Best Cinematography - La La Land – Linus Sandgren

Best Makeup and Hairstyling - Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini, and Christopher Nelson

Best Costume Design - Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood

Best Film Editing - Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert

Best Visual Effects - The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Dan Lemmon

Wednesday, February 1, 2017


Official Logo of the 60th Palarong Pambansa 2017 

These are the following schedules of the eighteen (18) regional meets all over the Philippines whose winners will represent their respective regions in the annual and largest multi-sporting event in the country, Palarong Pambansa 2017 to be held in San Jose de Buenavista, Antique in from April 23 - 29, 2017. 


ARMMAA - Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao Athletic Association

CARAA - Cordillera Autonomous Region Athletic Association

NCRAA - National Capital Region Athletic Association

IRAA - Ilocos Region Athletic Association

CAVRAA - Cagayan Valley Regional Athletic Association 

CLRAA - Central Luzon Regional Athletic Association

STCAA  - Southern Tagalog Calabarzon Athletic Association
  * aka CALABARZON (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon)

MIMAROPAA - Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan   
                            Regional  Athletic Association
  *aka Southern Luzon Region 

BRAA - Bicol Region Athletic Association

WVRAA - Western Visayas Regional Athletic Association

CVRAA - Central Visayas Regional Athletic Association

EVRAA - Eastern Visayas Regional Athletic Association

ZPRAA - Zamboanga Peninsula Regional Athletic Association

NMRAA - Northern Mindanao Regional Athletic Association

DAVRAA - Davao Region Athletic Association 

SRAA - Soccsksargen Regional Athletic Association
*aka SOCCSKSARGEN (South Cotabato, Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, General Santos).

NIRAA - Negros Island Region Athletic Association               

                                       Date                        Venue / Host Province

ARMAA -    February 16 - 21, 2017   Cotabato City, Maguindanao
CARAA -     February 4 - 8, 2017   Baguio City, Benguet
NCRAA -     February 13 - 18, 2017   Marikina City, MM
IRAA (Region I) -   March 3 - 8, 2017   Bantay, Ilocos Sur
CAVRAA (Region II) -  February 24 - 27, 2017  Ilagan, Isabela
CLRAA (Region III) -   February 5 - 10, 2017  Malolos City, Bulacan
STCAA (Region IV-A) -  February 13 - 18, 2017  Cavinti, Laguna 
MIMAROPAA (Region IV-B) - February 17 - 21, 2017  Brooke's Point, Palawan
BRAA (Region V) -  February 5 - 10, 2017   Legazpi City, Albay
WVRAA (Region VI) -  February 5 - 10, 2017  San Jose de Buenavista, Antique
CVRAA (Region VII) -  February 12- 17, 2017   Naga City, Cebu
EVRAA (Region VIII) - February 7-11, 2017  Naval, Biliran
ZPRAA (Region IX) -  March 12 - 16, 2017   Dipolog City, Zamboanga del Norte
NMRAA (Region X) -   December 12 - 16, 2016   Mambajao, Camiguin
DAVRAA (Region XI) - March 19 - 26, 2017   Mati, Davao Oriental
SRAA (Region XII)  -     February 18 - 22, 2017  Kidapawan City, North Cotabato 
CARAGA (Region XIII) -  February 12 - 17, 2017  Tandag City, Surigao del Sur
NIRAA (Region XVIII) -  February 24 to March 1, 2017 Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental