Anything Under The Sun Ads

Free counters!

Saturday, October 31, 2020

FIRST TIMER: Iloilo City's Rabiya Mateo Is Miss Universe Philippines 2020!

Baguio City - Ilongga beauty Rabiya Mateo, a 24 year-old native of the town of Balasan in Iloilo representing the "Queen City of the South" ILOILO CITY wins Miss Universe Philippines 2020 held at the Cordillera Convention Hall of the Baguio Country Club in this northern city known as the country's summer capital.

Mateo who is a magna cum laude physical therapy graduate of the Iloilo Doctor's College and works as a review center lecturer and coordinator is relatively new to the beauty competition. Having competed in Miss Iloilo City Dinagyang for the world renowned Dinagyang Festival in January 2020, she represented the city in the inaugural edition of the Miss Universe Philippines under a new Miss Universe Philippines Organization, Inc. with former Miss Universe 2011 3rd runner-up Shamcey Supsup Lee as its national director. Mateo is really the epitome of Ilonggo tagline "BASTA ILONGGA GWAPA". 

The pageant was successfully held on a bubble despite the challenges, difficulties, hiccups and untoward circumstances it faced during this pandemic times which eventually led to the withdrawal of some contestants like Sorsogon and Misamis Oriental who tested positive for Covid-19. 

First runner-up went to another stunner Parañaque's Ysabella Roxas Ysmael who is also a part Ilongga, second runner-up went to Quezon City's Michele Theresa Gumabao, third runner -up is Bohol's Pauline Amelinckx who garnered four (4) special awards prior to the finals while fourth runner-up is Cavite's Kimberly Hakenson. Here is the complete results and special awards:

Miss Universe Philippines 2020: Iloilo City– Rabiya Occeña Mateo

1st Runner Up: Parañaque - Ysabella Roxas Ysmael

2nd Runner Up: Quezon City – Michele Theresa Imperial Gumabao

3rd Runner Up: Bohol – Pauline Amelinckx

4th Runner Up: Cavite – Kimberly Hakenson

Top 16

Aklan – Christelle Abello

Albay – Paula Madarieta Ortega

Biliran – Skelly Ivy Florida (Fan Vote Winner)

Cebu City – Tracy Maureen Perez

Cebu Province – Apriel Smith

Davao City – Alaiza Flor Malinao

Mandaue – Lou Dominique Piczon

Misamis Oriental – Caroline Veronilla

Pasig City – Riana Pangindian

Romblon – Marie Fee Tajaran

Taguig – Sandra Lemonon

Major Special Awards

Best in National Costume - Mandaue, Lou Dominique Piczon

Best in Swimsuit - Iloilo City, Rabiya Occeña Mateo

Best in Evening Gown - Parañaque, Ysabella Roxas Ysmael

Face of the Universe - Bohol, Pauline Amelinckx

Miss Photogenic - Cebu City, Tracy Maureen Perez

Special Sponsor's Awards

Best in Swimsuit Photo - Cebu City, Tracy Maureen Perez

Best in Runway - Mandaue, Lou Dominique Piczon

Miss Lazada Fan Vote - Biliran, Skelly Ivy Florida (Automatic Advances to Top 16)

Miss MG Philippines - Quezon City, Michele Theresa Imperial Gumabao

Miss Creamsilk - Bohol, Pauline Amelinckx

Downy Sweetheart Award - Bohol, Pauline Amelinckx

Miss Cetaphil Sun - Bohol, Pauline Amelinckx

Best Tourism Video - Batanes, Jan Alexis Elcano

Photo Sources:

Miss Universe Philippines Organization, Inc.